Revisiting the Empty Tomb


The Empty Tomb

I read the different versions of the resurrection of the Lord Jesus Christ in four synoptic gospels. The women and his disciples ran and went the opened tomb to find the body of Jesus but none except the white linen cloth, which wrapped to his body,  left inside the empty tomb.  “The angel said to the women: Do not be afraid; for I know that you are looking for Jesus who has been crucified.  He is not here, for He has risen, just as He said. Come, see the place He was lying.  Go quickly and tell His disciples that he has risen from the dead; and behold, He is going ahead of you into Galilee, there you will see Him; behold, I have told you.” (Matthew 28:5-7, NASB)

On the contrary the Jewish chief priests were doubted, opposed to believe that Jesus was risen from the dead because they thought His disciples had stolen the body of the Lord and then bribed the Roman guards.  Therefore, those Jewish chief priests had no real Messiah or Saviour on their own.

The people raised questions in their hearts on how was our Lord Jesus Christ risen from the dead.  It is written in Psalm 16:10, (NASB):  “For You will not abandon my soul to Sheol; Nor will You allow Your Holy One to undergo decay.”  The Almighty Father raised Jesus Christ from the dead not to see His Beloved Son abandoned or suffered in decay.

The mortal body of Jesus was changed to immortal and glorious body of Jesus.  Jesus conquered death and the power of death belongs to Satan (Hebrews 2:14).

Jesus’ death was a temporary.  Every Christian will fall asleep and place in the grave — it’s only a temporary, too!  Remember the teachings of Paul the Apostle according to I Corinthians 15:50-57, (NASB) “Now I say this, brethren, that flesh and blood cannot inherit the kingdom of God; nor does the perishable inherit the imperishable.  Behold I tell you a mystery; we will not all sleep, but we will all be changed, in a moment, in the twinkling of an eye, at the last trumpet; for the trumpet will sound, and the dead will be raised imperishable, and we will be changed.  For this perishable must put on the imperishable, and this mortal must put on immortality. But when this perishable will have put on immortality, then will come about the saying that is written, ‘DEATH IS SWALLOWED UP in victory. O DEATH, WHERE IS YOUR VICTORY? O DEATH, WHERE IS YOUR STING?’ The sting of death is sin, and the power of sin is the law; but thanks be to God, who gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ.”

I still remember that my sinful nature was surrendered and buried through baptism and God raised me up to the new life in Christ.  Sin has defeated and I embrace and live my heart right now in Christ.  It is written in Galatians 2:20 (NASB): “I have been crucified with Christ; and it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me; and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself up for me.”

I am no longer holding back to the empty tomb.  I emptied doubts, frustrations and negative repercussions and left it behind to the empty tomb because I am worthily living with the resurrected Christ here in my heart.  Thank you Jesus that you had risen me indeed.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

