“Manhid”


The Tagalog word manhid that I’m translating it in English means “numb” or without feelings. I’m not against those beautiful women, yet  I am protesting them that their attitudes are aloof and without natural affections.

I had previously written on my blog called “Staying Single” last week about the attraction of women’s physique but their hearts filled with corruption that really resists and hurts me. I always flunked courting and dating women due to my eccentric or weird conversations.  I admit that my ways and thinking are immature.  I also lacked responsibilities because I became dependent to my parents when they were here in Manila (now residing in Toronto). My cousin Inah told me to choose the right woman not by outer beauty but by inner beauty.

Those women that their beauty is in vain according to Proverbs 31:30 in King James Version:

“Favour is deceitful, and beauty is vain: but a woman that feareth the LORD, she shall be praised.”

The Hebrew word chên (pronunciation khane) means graciousness, that is, subjectively (kindness, favor) or objectively (beauty): – favour, grace (-ious), pleasant, precious, [well-] favoured.

Other versions in the Bible used the word “charm” but it did not based from the original Hebrew scriptures. Only “favor” is an accepted word based from the Hebrew scriptures.  A woman who fears the Lord she shall be praised. Favor is a sham and beauty fills with vanity.

Some of those beautiful women who put posh make-ups on their faces and wear elegant accessories on their whole body. Well, what happened for them? It is written in Jeremiah 4:30 in New International Version:

“What are you doing, O devastated one?  Why dress yourself in scarlet and put on jewels of gold?  Why shade your eyes with paint?  You adorn yourself in vain. Your lovers despise you; they seek your life.”

I don’t discourage to some beautiful women who are reading on my blog because the Lord said about those women in Jeremiah’s time who were wearing a scarlet or red dress, putting jewels of gold, shading paint with their eyes, and adorning themselves in vain. The result of these that their lovers might fall on the hell’s pit. But some pastors did not teach you about modesty. In I Timothy 2:9 in King James Version:

“In like manner also, that women adorn themselves in modest apparel, with shamefacedness and sobriety; not with broided hair, or gold, or pearls, or costly array;”

The Greek word of shamefacedness is aidōs meaning bashful, modesty. Some women who are following their trends like spaghetti straps or jumper to expose their cleavages and mini-skirts to attract their lower lingeries or bikinis. Are those kinds of dress (e.g. trend-settings) modest?  No! It entices and tempts to the minds of men. You know, the Lord was right according to the prophecy of Jeremiah that some beautiful women will seek and despise their life in vain because they will experience or become victims of rape and sexual harassment committed by enticed men.

I hope beautiful women must not be “numb” on God’s teachings. Outer beauty is mere temporal. But a woman who fears the Lord she shall be praised. She  knows and obeys God’s commandments written in the scriptures. She is a certified optimist and genuine Christian. Only God will give me a virtuous woman according to Proverbs 19:14 in King James Version:

“House and riches are the inheritance of fathers: and a prudent wife is from the LORD.”

God will give me a prudent wife in the near future. He will find me a woman not too beautiful but by compassion and fear.

Those aspiring women, who wants to be more beautiful, must be enlightened their hearts and minds through God’s Word.

Leave a Reply

