Staying Single


I didn’t dream to get a girlfriend;

Some women will think that I have an inferiority complex or weird.

I am hungry and thirsty the love for them;

But the LORD feeds me through righteousness,

To satisfy hunger and thirst the love for HIM.

Love never ends for HIM.

I wrote a short poem through text message that I sent to my textmates and friends this afternoon that I did not really dream to get a girlfriend in my life since I was studying in academic years. My parents, relatives and friends always humiliated me because I am still choosy or picky because I’m strongly attracted to the women’s physique but their hearts are full of defilement which repels me. I did not pass the test of dating and courting due to my immatured thoughts. I experienced unusual “turn-offs” through my weird conversations (i.e., Women hated religion or Bible, too.). I hope some women who will read on my wordpress blog not to offend about my writing. I don’t want to discourage them but they must understand my humanitarian and religious reasons why am I still single at the age of 30.

Right now, I’m still compared to King Solomon that he did not find any woman in her life according to Ecclesiastes 7:28 in King James Version: Which yet my soul seeketh, but I find not: one man among a thousand have I found; but a woman among all those have I not found.” Solomon met thousands of women who were educated, professional, beautiful, and belong to the royal blood. He did not find his one true love while he became a ruler of Israel.

The best reason that I did not find a woman because I’m still serving with the Lord in this pessimistic world. It is written in I Corinthians 7:32-35 still in King James Version:

“But I would have you without carefulness.  He that is unmarried careth for the things that belong to the Lord, how he may please the Lord: But he that is married careth for the things that are of the world, how he may please his wife. There is difference also between a wife and a virgin. The unmarried woman careth for the things of the Lord, that she may be holy both in body and in spirit: but she that is married careth for the things of the world, how she may please her husband. And this I speak for your own profit; not that I may cast a snare upon you, but for that which is comely, and that ye may attend upon the Lord without distraction.”

The Greek word aperispastos (ap-er-is-pas’-toce) meaning solicitude or without distraction. St. Paul wrote this letter to the Christians of Corinth about singles and married persons. This apostle of Christ was unmarried but he encouraged them to imitate him by serving to the Lord without distraction.

Married men, who care for the things of this world, must please to their wives. Married women, who care for the things of this world, must please to their husbands. Couples are also serving the Lord like joining the group called “Couples for Christ (CFC)” and “Marriage Encounter Weekend” to enhance their faith to teach their children on how to pray and to learn Jesus’ gospel in the Bible.

For me, I don’t have time to fall in love for a woman because I am still busy on searching and memorizing verses in the Scriptures for the unexpected arguments against the enemies of faith (visible or invisible), serving God’s church in my parish, and focusing the Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) review and family’s business.

I would like to praise to all single men and women because I want to consider as my siblings of faith and it is written according to Hebrews 2:11-12 in New International Version:

“Both the one who makes men holy and those who are made holy are of the same family. So Jesus is not ashamed to call them brothers. He says, ‘I will declare your name to my brothers; in the presence of the congregation I will sing your praises.’ “

The Lord Jesus Christ who is God became man came here on earth but he was unmarried. He is not ashamed to call brothers and said, “I will declare your name to my brothers; in the presence of the congregation I will sing your praises.” Like me, unmarried persons who make them holy and those who are made holy belong to the same congregation or family.

Singles, read carefully: It is written in Luke 20:35-36 in New International Version:

Jesus replied, ‘The people of this age marry and are given in marriage. But those who are considered worthy of taking part in that age and in the resurrection from the dead will neither marry nor be given in marriage, and they can no longer die; for they are like the angels. They are God’s children, since they are children of the resurrection.'”

Remember, we have laws of marriage here in this world. But, God will refuse to perform marriage in heaven (either male or female) because we are like angels and considered as God’s children and the children of the resurrection.

I’m still happy and enjoy life as a single to serve the LORD wholeheartedly. Only God will tell my time whether he will give me a prudent woman or stay single forever.

For all singles around the world, just enjoy life and be always happy to serve with God to avoid distractions. Enjoy your freedom but you must have fear with the Lord always.

* * *

Warning to the married people

God will warn to the young married women (or married men) not to date, to love, or to lust single men (or single women) but they must cleave and be loyal to their husbands (or wives). Jesus said in Matthew 19:5-6:

“…For this cause shall a man leave father and mother, and shall cleave to his wife: and they twain shall be one flesh? Wherefore they are no more twain, but one flesh. What therefore God hath joined together, let not man put asunder.”

Here’s another verse about the 5 important virtues (italicized) on marriage according to Hosea 2:19-20:

“And I will betroth thee unto me for ever; yea, I will betroth thee unto me in righteousness, and in judgment, and in lovingkindness, and in mercies. I will even betroth thee unto me in faithfulness: and thou shalt know the LORD.”

3 thoughts on “Staying Single

Leave a Reply

