Facing Death Everyday


“I protest by your rejoicing which I have in Christ Jesus our Lord, I die daily” (I Corinthians 15:31, KJV).

This was the Biblical quote written by the apostle Paul that he delivered his letter to the Christians of  Corinth that he die every day as a preacher and worker of God’s church. The apostle of the Gentiles (Paul) faced dangers in his life while he was exposing and preaching the truth of the Gospel of Christ. He said according to II Corinthians 11:26:

“In journeyings often, in perils of waters, in perils of robbers, in perils by mine own countrymen, in perils by the heathen, in perils in the city, in perils in the wilderness, in perils in the sea, in perils among false brethren;…”

I am always still studying and meditating the Holy Scriptures about why am I in this world facing death every day. I wrote a text message, sent to some of my textmates or friends and said Friday night, “Only the Almighty Father may handle the clock of my unexpected departure whether in sickness or in tragedy. I’m ready to detach possessions on earth but I must retain my loyalty and love for GOD. My body will change from mortal to glorious body like Christ Jesus.”

This morning, I wrote another thoughts about death through text message and said again, “Leaving in this world is quite difficult. Righteous people will be taken away by God to separate with the wicked in this world. He will provide new heaven and new earth for them. He will remove pains, sorrows, hunger, thirst and wipe out every tears.”

Here on earth, I experienced near death happened on the 22nd of April, 1995 and wrote it on my Catholic Bible Diary, said (edited):

“Yesterday, we had taken lunch at Pizza Hut at the De La Salle University Branch in Taft Avenue. After lunch, we took a taxi going to Centro Escholar University because I am scheduled to take the entrance examination for college.

When we were almost approaching to the traffic light near at the front of Philippine General Hospital (PGH), a police officer of the Western Police District blocked through his small jeep to the stainless Ford Fierra. He went down to inspect the suspicious vehicle. He brought the ticket and grabbed a silver caliber 45, then in a couple of seconds, the crossfire started. I heard the crowds yelling and running during the gunfire. The taxi driver told me to get down and I hid beside him to avoid hitting by stray bullets between the police and the suspects. My mom was sitting at my back seat. She went down and covered her head not to hit also by single bullet.

I called God and His angels to protect me and the whole taxi cab not to hit any stray bullet. The incident lasted for 10 to 15 minutes. I saw suspects wearing plain white T-shirts, maong pants, and armed with M-16 rifles and high calibered pistols. An officer was wounded and at the back of stainless Ford Fierra sustained with several bullet holes. My mom told me the wind shield of Pajero was also hit by a stray bullet.

So we prayed for our safety. When the incident was over, we thanked the Almighty Father for keeping us free from harm. No single bullet hit on the cab. It was very frightening and perilous experience.”

This world has filled with the cohorts of Satan. I don’t want to repeat the negative experiences happened 14 years ago. I asked God through prayer to add more angels to secure my body, soul, and spirit to avoid any untoward incidents whether on traveling or any activities here on earth.

Life here in this world is too short and dangerous, my dear bloggers, readers and friends. Death is powerfully serious and complicated to discuss here on my blog. The exact time of death for the individuals is still mysterious and unknown. It is written in Ecclesiastes 9:12 in New International Version:

“Moreover, no man knows when his hour will come: As fish are caught in a cruel net, or birds are taken in a snare, so men are trapped by evil times that fall unexpectedly upon them.”

It’s clear, “men are trapped by evil times that fall unexpectedly upon them,” meaning you will die unexpectedly by sleep, sicknesses, accidents, and more. For example, Francis Magalona was going perform at the Eraserheads (E-heads) final reunion concert on Saturday night of March 7 at the grounds of the SM Mall of Asia. Although it was too late, he passed away on Friday noon of March 6 due to complications of leukemia at the young age of 44. GMANEWS.tv told, “A doctor at the hospital who requested anonymity told reporters that Magalona succumbed to multiple organ failure ‘secondary to severe sepsis and secondary to pneumonia.’ ” The E-heads band gave a farewell tribute to the late Master Rapper.

Magalona died with an unfinished business in this world that he might spend more quality time with his family and talents. I mourned and shed with tears about the passing away of the Master Rapper with indelible legacies of his rap music which he contributed for our country, to his colleagues, and to GOD.

All of us will face judgment according to Hebrews 9:27:

“And as it is appointed unto men once to die, but after this the judgment:…”

God’s appointed time unto men once to die but after this we will be resurrected from the dead and face judgment to HIM.

But it’s never too late if we want to serve God early whether you are working or not, it’s written in Ecclesiastes 12:1

“Remember now thy Creator in the days of thy youth, while the evil days come not, nor the years draw nigh, when thou shalt say, I have no pleasure in them;…”

I always draw close to serve the LORD and thank Him through prayer in times of adversities and avoid troubles everyday. Amen.

Leave a Reply

