Business begins from home


Who will never forget the local prominent tycoons and pioneer magnates like Henry Sy, Lucio Tan, Sen. Manuel Villar and more? Why did they become successful in their lives? Those people began in their humble beginnings that they sell “puto bumbong” (rice puddies), “polvoron” (powdered tarts), fishes, fruits, and other cheaper products. Their real secrets: perseverance and hardwork.

Right now, I’m handling my two businesses: Chester’s Choice Delicatessen and teaching piano lessons. I produced and distributed flyers to my friends, fellow clients, parishes, and neighbors with perseverance and hardwork. My father told me through Yahoo Messenger Chat to distribute two flyers, one for ready to cook processed meats and piano tutorials, to the customers at the Saturday Market Bazaar at the Ayala Alabang Village. 

I started to teach piano yesterday afternoon. My first student is a boy at the age of seven (7) years old. The name of the first student is Marco. I taught him about proper sitting and hands-on posture before playing the piano. I gave him the trivia about the total keys or notes in a standard piano. I answered him: eighty-eight keys. Now I asked him about why 88 keys on one standard piano. So, I and Marco were counted the two groups of key notes: white keys consist of 52 keys and black keys (flats or sharps) consist of 36 keys. The sum of the keys is 88 keys

I found out Marco’s weakness was to play the B chords (TI-RE#-FA#) because his fingers are so short because he could not reach his left thumb finger to press the “FA#” key. So I encouraged him to practice the weakest point several times.

I gave to his mother a blank sheet called “Practice Sheet” (to download at the last paragraph), which I downloaded it from the piano tips website, to track down her son’s progress on playing the piano. I advised Marco is to practice piano constantly to avoid mistakes. His mother paid me at P 250 but I told Marco must go back next Wednesday. I always prayed for him to be successful pianist like me.

I made mistakes twice when I was playing recitals at Yamaha School of Music (YSM) due to the coldness of my hands and minor lapses. I became successful piano player when I played 11 songs at the Mandarin Hotel on February 2006. Some party hotel peeps praised and gave me a big round of applause.

I would like to change the systematic ways of teaching piano lessons. I will never forget in Yamaha School of Music that I learned piano from Grade One to Two.  I discontinued studying there because I filled with anxieties and boredom so my parents had decided to buy me a DVD on how to play piano with improvisations through the internet.

I have a radical change on piano teaching methods about how to play with chords, notes, and improvisations (for later sessions)  because some teachers in reputable music schools and universities will not teach their students how to improvise but they depend the traditional and boring way of teaching piano. (I do not abolish playing Hanon because it is the warm exercise to enhance your fingers and hands before playing the piano).No more Grade levels but everybody is welcome to learn my piano!  

Some students will ask the teacher on how to play the song “Happy Birthday” but what was the teacher’s reply, “You must find and buy the music score about the ‘Happy Birthday’ song.” That’s a boring and stupid answer. You must get out from the stupid rut! All right, you must play the piano through the ear and find notes or piano keys to play the Birthday song. Well, I will teach students on how to play through improvisation in later sessions.

I experienced on difficult playing the song “Somewhere In Time.” I was thinking that I will buy the music sheet about the song “Old Woman” but I played my discman to listen from Maksim’s third album which was released in 2005. I carefully listened it then I applied it on my piano and I memorized it in whole when I spent the 2006 summer vacation in Baguio City! Now, I memorized the “Somewhere In Time” song without looking with music notes and glanced with the people wherever I go. Some women impressed me on playing the song “Somewhere In Time” and other songs as well in my piano.

Perseverance and hardwork are the two most essential fruits to be a successful people either in piano or in different fields. Laziness is unacceptable to all Christians. Therefore, I will write some verses of the scriptures according to the II Peter 1:5-9.

“And beside this, giving all diligence, add to your faith virtue; and to virtue knowledge; And to knowledge temperance; and to temperance patience; and to patience godliness; And to godliness brotherly kindness; and to brotherly kindness charity.  For if these things be in you, and abound, they make you that ye shall neither be barren nor unfruitful in the knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ. But he that lacketh these things is blind, and cannot see afar off, and hath forgotten that he was purged from his old sins.”

A Christian either engaged in business or employed in different fields must add to their faith virtue, add virtue  knowledge, add knowledge temperance, add temperance patience, add patience godliness, add godliness brotherly kindness, and add brotherly kindness charity or love. I’m still following the Christian virtues which were written by the apostle Peter not to be lazy or major lapses of spiritual faith. I hope that the Christian business virtues must begin from home by praying and meditating the scriptures before or after your work.

***

For the piano students who wished to download the practice sheet to track down the progress, click practice-piano-sheet1. Good luck and God bless you! Leave my comments or any violent reactions on my blog. Thank you.

 

 

Leave a Reply

